Best Before – Help

Best Before – Help

Also available in :
Français

– How to add a product ?
– What is a product opened ?
– What is an expired product ?
– How to create a new shopping list ?
– How to remove a product ?
– How suggestions work ?
– Why to create an account ?
– How to share your product inventory ?
– How to share a list with external members ?
– What data are synchronized ?
– Is it possible to manage multiple homes ?
– Where are the pictures stored ?
– Can I backup/restore my data ?



How to add a product ?

There are 2 ways to do that.
– From the shopping list, you can add an item and then click on the checkbox to buy it. The item will be available in products.
– Directly from Products, click on + to open a new screen. You can add the product name, quantity, category, location, unit, buying date, best before date, comment. Don’t forget to save the product.



What is a product opened ?

An opened product is a product that is partly consumed. In general, this means that it must be consumed quickly. For example, a brick of orange juice or a pack of ham that contains several slices.



What is an expired product ?

A product has expired when its best before date has passed.
When you add a product via the “Products” menu or in the “Suggestion”, you can define a product that does not have a best before date



How to remove a product ?

You can consume the product, click on the product in the list and then the icon at the bottom left to consume it. When the quantity is 0, it is removed from the product list.
If you didn’t consume the product you can trash it, with the icon at the bottom right.
Otherwise, you can delete the product with a long click on it in the list.



How to create a new shopping list ?

Go to the “Shopping list” menu, at the top click on “Shopping list” or on the drop-down list and select “New List” .



How suggestions work ?

When you add a product or item in the shopping list, there is an autocompletion to help you to chose the product.
If you add a product not existing in the suggestions list, it will be automatically added.
So, the next time you add the product, you just have to type the first letters to select it.
When you change the category or location of a product, the suggestion is also updated.
Then you can go to Suggestions to edit any suggest and change category, location, unit, number of days before expiry.
You can also add directly a new suggestion in Suggestion menu by clicking the + button.



Why to create an account ?

To save your data online and to share your products inventory with your home. Go to the menu “Account” to create an account, you must enter a name, an email and a password. You can change this name later but not the email.



How to share your product inventory ?

Once your account is created, you can send invites to your house members. They will receive an email. An invited person must download the app and create an account to see your invite. Free to accept or refuse the invite. By accepting, she will lose all her data and receive the data from your inventory.



How to share a list with external members ?

Create a new list and click on “Share this list with the external users”. Purchased products in this list will not appear in your inventory.



What data are synchronized ?

All data except product photos and suggestions photos. As well as preferences, which are specific to the device.


Is it possible to manage multiple homes ?

You can not manage multiple homes. If you want to manage another inventory, you will need to create a new account with another email address. Then in the “Account” menu, you will have to sign out and change your account.



Where are the pictures stored ?

Pictures taken from the camera or selected from your gallery are stored on your phone.
After cropping the picture, when you  save, a copy of the picture is created. So your original file from the gallery still exists and is not cropped. If the picture is taken from a camera the original file is deleted, because it is too large.
The cropped picture is a .jpg file, less than 50 KB, the resolution is 400×400.
They are stored in the folder bestbefore, usually in /sdcard/Pictures/bestbefore/



Can I backup/restore my data ?

Currently you can create an account and your data will be saved online. It’s not possible to export its data in a file and to reimport them.